Skip to content

The Angel of Endless Love

April 15, 2015

WP_20150121_005-1

Life is beautiful

even though I don’t understand it.

It’s like the Angel in this painting,

Astonishing and overwhelmingly luminous and beautiful.

I just have to be able to see it.

***

My life changes all the time

and it feels that I can’t plan the outcomes of my decisions…

*

My surgery went well.

I still can’t know the result of it,

I can only trust that it’s heading on the right direction.

*

I lay on my bed in a rental apartment in the central Helsinki.

I hear seagulls skreaming outside,

and the sun is shinig.

I feel a bit alone.

My family is far away

as well as my friends.

I’m not hurting and I should rest for a while.

I just can’t.

I listen to the people who are working outside,

they speak my language.

I recognize the tempo and calmness in their conversation,

It remids me of my childhood:

Simple and easy communication between people

who chare their every day duties with each other.

I’d like to be a part of this society,

But I feel as an outsider.

Alone,

Laying in the bed, trying to stretch my legs.

***

What a strange feeling:

Tired, but not enough.

Visiting my home country,

But not quite feeling at home…

***

*

…and the angel of the Lord appeares,

and the glory of the Lord shines round about us:

and we shouldn’t be afraid.

Only remember:

But let all those that take refuge in thee rejoice,

Let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them:

Let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee.

Ps 5:11

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

