Skip to content

A Different Type of Pilgrimage – A Tour in Europe with Angels VI

August 11, 2014

What is a pilgrimage?
This round trip has shown me a different way to both visit sacred places

and find new ways to see spirituality.
***
For me,

spirituality is based on the connection between me and God, or Angels.

Angels are God’s messengers,

and sometimes even we people can act like angels.

That happens when we help each other,

when we turn out to be a blessing to someone’s life.

I have been thinking about these

– almost always –

small things that make a huge difference in our lives.

***
When I was hiking in the Alps,

I got a walking stick from my son.

He just found one fun looking stick from the woods,

and gave it to me when he saw

that I had difficulties to climb down a path.

***
For me, it became a metaphor for the truth.

– How come?
With every single step I took,

I had to lean on it.

The path was slippery and steep.

I had to admit that I needed help,

that I was disable to manage by myself.

My poor condition was a fact,
and so was the reason of it:

I have been seriously ill,

and I have to take care of myself.

I can’t ignore the fact that it’s both scary and challenging.

– In what way do I look at the future?
– What do I choose to do with the challenges

I meet in my every day life?

***
A pilgrimage is about wandering in peace.
It doesn’t mean that you’re in total harmony all the time,
It simply means that you have time and place to reflect.
A peaceful place.

***
Getting a walking stick was a nice gesture.
And a really wise way to help me.
My son gave me a tool to manage my own way down the mountain.

He could have taken my hand and climbed  together with me,
but the path was too narrow,
and it would have caused problems for both of us.

***
One more truth:
It’s like life itself, you have to finish your own path.

You can have company,

and get help on the way,
but you’ll feel much more rewarded by accomplishing things by yourself.

***
Sometimes we are lucky to have vice people around us,

who can help us to see through the problems

and find out right tools to solve them.

Sometimes we can act as Angels for someone.

***
Wandering made me humble.

Some of the paths we chose looked quite easy from the beginning,

but turned out to be troublesome.

Even though we pray for blessing,

we never know what happens.

In their hearts humans plan their course,
    but the Lord establishes their steps.

To humans belong the plans of the heart,
    but from the Lord comes the proper answer of the tongue.

Proverbs 16

***
The only thing needed is TRUST.

I had to trust my walking stick,
I asked my angels to help me,
and I managed to hike and climb without hurting myself.

***
I have worked with the Angel of Alps painting

and I also add some photos of the walking stick.
***

Blessings ❤

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

