Skip to content

A Different type of Pilgrimage – a Tour to Europe with Angels IV

July 28, 2014

V

When I visited the Marienberg Abbey in Northern Italy, I started with the museum.
One of the monks told me about their tradition to sing the prayers,
and I became curious about to see their church.
I was wondering if It would be different in some way:
My knowledge of Seraphim was minimal, such as my idea about the Benedictine Order.
I know that they basically dedicate their lives in praying and working, and living in simplicity (poverty).
***
Sometimes, when I visit a church, I meet a big Angel on the doorstep.
In some cases there are two, as in Sacré-Coeur, in Paris.
They guard the church, giving peaceful and holy surrounding for prayers and masses.

This time there was no angel at the door.
I went in.
There were two angels around the altar instead.
Perhaps the church didn’t need a “door angel”, when the Abbey had a really big one?

***
I sat down for a while, and tried to understand how these Seraphim angels “co-worked” with monks.

In that moment, I was showed how Seraphim were singing together with monks.

That was a simple answer.

These Angels were pure light, they were several meters high,
they were holding some kind of circle of light in their hands.
The light of this scene was so intense, that I couldn’t see figures clearly,
or if these angels had wings.

***
As usually, if I’m wondering about something, answers are told briefly or showed quickly.
It’s like a scene or some words.
These messages are often metaphors and sometimes it takes a while before I get the idea.
This time I didn’t quite understand these circles.
***

When I was on my way out, I kind of heard some voices,
like a choir was singing far from me,
the tunes were carried by the wind
but I couldn’t hear any words.

That music was really comforting and peaceful.
– I wander if I was able to hear Seraphim singing?
This choir “followed” me for couple of minutes, even after I left the Abbey.

***
I tried to find some angelic music from internet, and this is quite similar:
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qpg9rxRjIzY
***

Afterwards I tried to paint the scene, which was difficult,
it was hard to find colors for light.
***

I also tried to find out information about Seraph and Seraphim.
There are couple of sentences about them in bible, for example in Isaiah 6:1-3:

 I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple.
Above him were seraphim, each with six wings:
With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying.
And they were calling to one another:
“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty;
the whole earth is full of his glory.”
***

– I wonder if the circle of light is a metaphor for the Glory?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

