Skip to content

Endless Possibilities

June 17, 2014

endless possibilities2

endless possibilities

I have been working with this oil painting for couple of days.

She comes from past,

and talks about endless possibilities.

– We all have endless possibilities.

– Do we?

By contrast to her message, I’ve been thinking about misery:

discussed with children about refugees and war,

about real hardships that thousands of people meet in their everyday life,

today.

– Do they have endless possibilities?

I don’t think so.

I go back to my feelings about a half a year go,

and I wonder how much hope these people can have in their lives.

Here at home, I look at the foreign beggars on street corners, in front of grocery stores,

and somewhere in my mind I refer to the words from Lamentations (3:2-6):

He has driven me away and made me walk
    in darkness rather than light;
indeed, he has turned his hand against me
    again and again, all day long.

He has made my skin and my flesh grow old
    and has broken my bones.
He has besieged me and surrounded me
    with bitterness and hardship.
He has made me dwell in darkness
    like those long dead.

*

I’m still recovering from my sickness and have no income,

but compared to their situation,

my life is good,

I can be thankful – if I’m willing to see all the blessings I have in my life.

I’m thankful.

I’m blessed,

I want to see a brighter future,

I want to see and find new possibilities.

I want to feel joy and feel the power of youthfulness,

as Søren Kierkegaard puts together in Either/Or: A Fragment of Life:

“If I were to wish for anything,
I should not wish for wealth and power,
but for the passionate sense of the potential,
for the eye which, ever young and ardent, sees the possible.

Pleasure disappoints, possibility never.

And what wine is so sparkling,
what so fragrant, what so intoxicating,

as possibility!”

***

I wonder, if she means that

Where ever there is hope

There are new possibilities.

*

As I see it,

I would like to sent prayers and healing thoughts to these people in need,

all these people I hear about in news,

and see around me, begging for some coins.

I know, my coins are not enough:

Let’s put our prayers together,

and pray shortly but powerfully for them

Dear Lord,

I ask You to help refugees and beggars,

all people in need,

Please, send your powerful Angels to help and guide them.

Let the Angels of Hope surround these people,

and give them both strength and joy.

Dear Lord, You Almighty,

guard these people,

ease their situation,

Please, solve conflicts in the best possible way.

Amen.

*

 


 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

