Skip to content

Shit Happens

May 21, 2014

Shithappens

The theme of the day: Creativity and Know-how

***

Last time I wrote about some important qualities that children have.

Today I’d like to add creativity to that list:

Children are creative.

Artist are creative.

We all are creative – If we want to.

*

We all reflect qualities of the Main Creator:

So God created mankind in his own image,
    in the image of God he created them;
    male and female he created them.

Genesis 1:27

*

Creativity can be something you do just for fun,
but to create the exact image you have in your mind,
requires some specific skills and knowledge,
experience in different tools and materials.

To be professional,
you have to put your effort into practising that skill,
use your 10 000 or 20 000 hours to built up a certain level of know-how.

Well, sometimes even that is not enough.
Some pencils and markers are not like others, different brands have different qualities,
some fixative products doesn’t work in the way as expected.

Today I made a mistake, I didn’t check the combined effect of my markers and the new  fixative.
I made my daughter cry.
She really wanted to wear her unique sneakers today…with all logos I had drawn on them.

– Shit happens.

…I just wanted to protect the shoe canvas with fixative…

***

And what is the lesson of today?
Yes, I’m like a child,
I always find new ways to create, with different materials and mixtures.
I’m not afraid to concretize an idea.
Surely, I make mistakes, but usually it’s possible to repair occurring damages or fix all kind of problems.

Wisdom arises from difficulties and problems that we are willing to go through,
when we correct mistakes and learn from them.
I try to be open minded, and like a child, find a new way to make this situation better,
without hanging myself on the feeling of disappointment and bitterness.

*

By wisdom a house is built,
and through understanding it is established;
through knowledge its rooms are filled
with rare and beautiful treasures.

Proverbs 24:3-4

*

I’ll try to have this approach when I think about my body and coming surgeries.

I really want to have a normal body, without any handicap,

but sometimes you have to accept disabilities for a while,

and hope that it’s possible to fix them in the future

– with the right type of know-how and wisdom.

*

We’ll see how I fix these sneakers.

To be continued…

***

*

Ps. Trying to find a different perspective to

“Shit happens.”

– What would a farmer comment?
– We spread it on the field and see how well the cereals grow.

Yes, indeed. Recycling.

Real stuff – good harvest.

***

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

