Skip to content

Our Daily Bread is the Bread of Life

March 5, 2014

DailyBreadOur Daily Bread

*

For God so loved the world
that he gave his one and only Son,
that whoever believes in him shall not perish
but have eternal life.

John 3:16

*

I was asked to make an icon for an art exhibition “Our Daily Bread”.

Since then I have been working with this painting.

This icon tells me the essential content of Our Daily Bread.
In my point of view, we have been given a great gift in Jesus Christ.
It looks almost too spiritual when I write it down like this,

but briefly, our gift is that we can get to experience His presence in our everyday life.
And because of his essence is pure love,
He renews our life.

Not necessarily concerning the life after this,
but right now, in the middle of our everyday chores.

His presence comes with a total harmony.

As I see it, there is also an important social aspect.

Jesus said:

For where two or three are gathered together in my name,

there am I in the midst of them.

Matt. 18:20

***

The easiest part of this is,
that we just have to ask Him to join us.
We can do it while we talk to each other on the phone,
when we sit on the bus on the way home from work,
while we work out, or when we wait for our turn in the checkout queue.

He is willing to share our life with us,
it doesn’t have to be a big mass in a church, or an important meeting with a special person.
Simply, just normal life with work and different chores,
problems and arguments, meetings and conversations.
He will be there for us,
when ever we ask for it.

*

***

Our Daily Bread:

Jesus said to them,
“Very truly I tell you, it is not Moses who has given you the bread from heaven,
but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven.
For the bread of God is the bread that comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

“Sir,” they said, “always give us this bread.”
Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life.

Whoever comes to me will never go hungry,
and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.

But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe.
All those the Father gives me will come to me,
and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.

John 6:32-37

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

