Skip to content

The Prayer of The Last Day of The Year

December 31, 2013

Pyhääitixab

Our Lady with Contrasts of Life

*

I’ve been in the hospital again.
I met the surgeon

and I went to the ultrasound,

this time in mammography department.
I have been taped and patched up several times.

*

Last night I woke up with a pain in both of my hips and legs,
it felt like a sciatic pain,
which I have had some times.

– What damn is this now?

*

I decided to take a painkiller

and wrapped myself in a woollen blanked.

– Where in the earth does all this pain come from?

*

While I was waiting all these sluggish hours to pass by

– in hospital –
I drew – again.

This time I asked to get some paper from a copying machine.

*
Today I felt for some beautiful colours
and I coloured this scanned picture of Our Lady, Virgin Maria.

*

I was thinking about beautiful, stained glass windows in old churches.

How light dances through different shapes of glass

and makes pictures alive.

*

This colourful play is like life itself.

When the sun disappears behind clouds,

changes the atmosphere in the image into another:

colours get deeper and darker,

and when light suddenly disappears,

the loss of it feels both surprising and shocking.

The contrast of light and dark  becomes almost touchable.

It feels that the hole story in the image

changes to something arduous and severe.

*

Light is the essence in Hope and Joy.

Occasionally, it feels, that this light disappears for a while.

And we all need light, in several ways, in our lives.

*

In David’s Psalm (30) it says

*

When I felt secure, I said,
    “I will never be shaken.”
Lord, when you favored me,
    you made my royal mountain stand firm;

but when you hid your face,
    I was dismayed.

*

For me, this tells about the contrast of light and shadow:

We feel strong together with God,

when everything works well in daily basis.

The colours of life are bright and shiny.

*

But, when setbacks come,

we feel that we are totally off the beaten track,

thrown out alone into the shadows.

Suddenly, the meaning of life changes,

everything is different.

*

In some way, our hope lies in these words:

*

His anger lasts only a moment,
    but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may stay for the night,
    but rejoicing comes in the morning.

*

You turned my wailing into dancing;
    you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,
that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.

Psalm 30:5, 11-12

*

O’ Lord,

Let this Holy Virgin painting

be a colourful and bright message

for us all

about a peaceful and successful

New Year 2014.

We thank You

for you loving and rejuvenating presence in our lives.

O’ Lord,

guide us to see the opportunities

You provide us,

during this coming year

and help us to make right decisions.

Bless us, O’ Lord.

*

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

