Skip to content

Christmas fever

December 26, 2013

Girl on fire

I’m experiencing a very warm Christmas.
I’m not wining,
but today is the third day with a fever.

*
I called the hospital,

and I asked whether it is normal that the fever remains at 38.5 degrees Celsius?

– No inflammation?

– I don’t think so.

– Are you warm?

– Of course, I have fever.

– Operation area, is it red?

– No.

*
– It’s probably a Virus, they said.
with instructions: “Rest in peace”…

*
Therefore,

my Christmas in a particularly soft and extra warm –
mostly under the blankets,

sometimes sweating.

*

I feel the salt on my skin,
as if I had been swimming all day in the ocean.
The lips are dry and salty.
*
I remember reading in the Bible about salt and fire.
I dragged myself to pick up the laptop and the Gospel of Mark:
*

 For every one shall be salted with fire,

and every sacrifice shall be salted with salt.

Salt is good:

but if the salt have lost his saltness,

wherewith will ye season it?

Have salt in yourselves,

and have peace one with another.

Mark 9: 48-50

*

My cancer is a sacrifice,

in some sense,

– at least for me.

*

This trial goes through

fire and pain,

with saltiness on my lips.

I wonder: how much is enough

and how long it takes?

*

I also read the words:

Consider it pure joy,

my brothers and sisters,

whenever you face trials of many kinds,

because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

James 1:2-3

*

I feel warm and limp,

I just wonder:

Isn’t this a bit rough form of joy?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

