Skip to content

What does the Christmas spirit mean?

December 19, 2013

taustat

What does the Christmas spirit mean?
*
A family is a unit,
as in a marriage,
we should stay together both
in sickness and in health,
in good times and in bad,
and in joy as well as in sorrow.
*
This year I feel quite different than during Christmas seasons before.
Of course,
my cancer have changed a lot
– socially and mentally,
both individually and in a group, in our family.
*
We haven’t done the normal preparations before Christmas,
we have not sent any Christmas cards…
no cleaning, packing, running around.
We are not going to travel to visit our relatives,
I’ll visit the hospital instead.
*
We have to wait,
I have to wait.
I’m going to get new results from pathologist after the New Year.
Just wait and see.
*
I’m happy to have a family.
I’m thankful for it.
*
I have promised to love unconditionally,
to support goals,
to honour and respect,
to laugh and cry together,
and to cherish
– both my husband and our family –
for as long as we shall live.
*
This is the essence of my Christmas Spirit this year.
*
I will cherish,
nurture,
treasure,
every moment I have
– as far as I’m able to.
*
There will be moments of despair,
pain and sorrow,
but I have a goal:
to cherish.
And it’s simply because I’m thankful,
for everything that I have,
and all the things I lack of.
*
I still don’t understand.
I still have my pains.
But I have a goal.
***
*
Today I pray:
My Dear Lord,
make me strong
to understand Your purposes
and
make me wise,
to accept them
*
Give me strength,
to face hardships and setbacks
– without getting bitter.
*
My Dear Lord,
open my eyes to see
the gifts You have given me,
and open my heart,
that I can appreciate them.
*
Thank You,
My Almighty Father.
***
*
A thoughtful song about Thankfulness:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOEsbLSUDYYAs Josh Groban sings

Some days we forget to look around us
Some days we can’t see the joy that surrounds us
So caught up inside ourselves
We take when we should give

So for tonight we pray for
What we know can be
And on this day we hope for
What we still can’t see

It’s up to us to be the change
And even though we all can still do more
There’s so much to be thankful for

Look beyond ourselves, there’s so much sorrow
It’s way too late to say, I’ll cry tomorrow
Each of us must find our truth
We’re so long overdue

So for tonight we pray for
What we know can be
And every day we hope for
What we still can’t see

It’s up to us to be the change
And even though we all can still do more
There’s so much to be thankful for

Even with our differences
There is a place we’re all connected
Each of us can find each others light

So for tonight we pray for
What we know can be
And on this day we hope for
What we still can’t see

It’s up to us to be the change
And even though this world needs so much more
There’s so much to be thankful for

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

