Skip to content

False Assumptions III

November 29, 2013

False Assumptions III:

Bad luck is infectious.

You should not talk about your cancer,

it feels like something very contagious.

naama

Perhaps it’s connected to some kind of New Age thinking , Rules of Power,

or it’s just a general fear for everything unpleasant:

In any case,

You should not talk about your medical condition.

Just saying the word cancer makes people to back off.

It is okay for me,

but what if my children need to talk about my sickness with someone?

******

– Is bad luck contagious?

******

I actually don’t think so.

You can think that

man is the master of his own destiny,

all though, it is not that simple either.

Sometimes we create our problems by making bad choices,

sometimes we are given struggles, so that we would learn new lessons in life.

*****

The Book of Job says that

For hardship does not spring from the soil,
nor does trouble sprout from the ground.
Yet man is born to trouble
as surely as sparks fly upward.

*****

Life is as it is:

Sometimes you can plan everything and become successful,

on another occasion you fail with altogether.

****

Coldplay: Lost

***

Just because I’m losing
Doesn’t mean I’m lost
Doesn’t mean I’ll stop
Doesn’t mean I would cross

Just because I’m hurting
Doesn’t mean I’m hurt
Doesn’t mean I didn’t get
What I deserved
No better and no worse

I just got lost
Every river that I tried to cross
Every door I ever tried was locked
Ohhh and I’m…
Just waiting ’til the shine wears off

*****

It is easy to get lost in the landscape of fears.

It’s a false assumption to think that cancer is contagious,

but fears are – in some sense.

You shouldn’t wake up other people’s fears.

****

I return back  to the Book of Job

“But if I were you, I would appeal to God;
I would lay my cause before him.

He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed,
miracles that cannot be counted.
He provides rain for the earth;
he sends water on the countryside.

Job 5:6-10

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

