Skip to content

The Second Day in Convent

November 6, 2013

WP_20131106_001

Today was the second time I visited The convent of the Bridgettine sisters in Djursholm.

I continued to paint the Virgin Mary icon.

The weather was damp and cold.

Clouds were hanging  over the landscape, almost touching the tree tops.

My mind was misty.

Still, the surroundings of the Convent were beautiful.

I walked slowly through the Convent garden.

Colourful leaves lied like ornaments on the dark pavement,

I could hear children playing somewhere behind me and some small birds sang in the trees.

The chapel was as peaceful as before.

There were some nuns praying, and I took a place beside the old nun I met yesterday.

She was praying with a Roman Catholic rosary bead.

I touched her hand as a greeting and she smiled to me.

And I started my work: Praying and painting.

We were sitting together for some time.

It was peaceful. No spoken words, just silent, soft understanding.

Then it was time to leave.

I met the head of the convent on my way out.

The icon is not ready yet, but I showed it to her.

We had a short discussion of God’s healing power.

Before I left, she hugged me.

Life is fragile, so are we – but God is powerful.

This work and pilgrimage gives me the opportunity to experience his grace – however, on a very modest scale.

I’m thankful and hope that I can come back some day.

On my way home I was listening a touching song:

Nella Fantasia http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5HMkUg6rYQ

Finding Nella Fantasia from YouTube lead me to

Choi Sung Bong and his unbelievable story – and of course voice.

Wonderfull!

Jeong-So Park talks about meeting Sung-Bong Choi for the first time

Korea’s Got Talent: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BewknNW2b8Y

Italian English Translation
Nella fantasia io vedo un mondo giusto,
Lì tutti vivono in pace e in onestà.
Io sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
Come le nuvole che volano,
Pien’ d’umanità in fondo all’anima.
In my fantasy I see a just world
Where everyone lives in peace and honesty
I dream of souls that are always free
Like clouds that float
Full of humanity in the depths of the soul
Nella fantasia io vedo un mondo chiaro
Lì anche la notte è meno oscura.
Io sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
Come le nuvole che volano.
Pien’ d’umanità.
In my fantasy I see a bright world
Where each night there is less darkness
I dream of souls that are always free
Like clouds that float
Full of humanity
Nella fantasia esiste un vento caldo,
Che soffia sulle città, come amico.
Io sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
Come le nuvole che volano,
Pien’ d’umanità in fondo all’anima.
In my fantasy exists a warm wind
That breathes into the city, like a friend
I dream of souls that are always free
Like clouds that float
Full of humanity in the depths of the soul
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

