Skip to content

A Different Type of Pilgrimage

November 5, 2013

I have a call to paint Holy Mother Icons.

I have started a different type of Pilgrimage. I paint in places with lot of prayers.

I got an instruction to visit The convent of the Bridgettine sisters in Djursholm this week.

I’ll paint a special Icon inspired by the convent and sisters I meet.

Today I was sitting in their chapel and painting while the door behind me opened.

Someone brought in a nun sitting in a wheelchair.

She was old and seemed to be shy.

She was left just behind me.

We didn’t share any common language – I think she was Italian – but, I found a connection with her.

Her fragile presence aroused several questions in my mind:

she was far away from her home country – did she feel home in this convent?

Serving God for a lifetime – has it been a good life?

I saw that she was in pain.

Still, she was sitting there, quietly,

just waiting – perhaps praying.

I showed my painting for her couple of times, that she could see the painting process

– and perchance give her something else to think about.

… I wonder if I’m going to meet her tomorrow?

WP_20131105_002

Susan Boyle http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIzbldBVnjY

The convent of the Bridgettine sisters in Djursholm

Birgitta

WP_20131105_001

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heather Kopp

about grief, grace, and recovery from addiction

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

70 Degrees West

an environmental and humanitarian photo-documentary project from pole to pole along 70º west longitude

